Mending Broken Narratives

I’ve been struggling with topics to write about as of late. I spend a lot of time thinking about articles, essays, and op-eds to pitch to editors, but end up discarding the vast majority of them because they’re not what I want to read and not what I want to write.

I know from experience that everyone likes to watch a trainwreck, most people like to read about tragedies, and a lot of readers love a good redemption arc. I have plenty of those stories. I’ve crashed and burned more times than I can count in struggles with relationships, trauma, mental illness, death, etc. But I don’t want to write about those things. Or at least, I don’t want to put the worst parts of myself on display on a regular basis.

I don’t think I should have to be broken in order to have a worthy story to tell. Sometimes people need to hear narratives of people who are doing okay. People who wake up in the morning, go to their jobs, come home, feed the cat, and go about their day.

Maybe the answer then is to tell a story about how everything will be okay because you, too, can make it to the other side.

What do you think? What kinds of stories grip you?

Leave a Reply

